ONE POTENTIALLY RELEVANT OPPORTUNITY
Chobham Parish Council
Burial Ground Maintenance Contract
- Estimated total value
- £36,000 excluding VAT · £43,200 including VAT
- Contract period
- 16 November 2026–31 December 2029
- Submission deadline
- 23 October 2026, 17:00 BST (16:00 UTC)
- Enquiry deadline
- No separate deadline stated in the reviewed notice
The value covers the stated contract period. It is not annual income or a guaranteed award.
Why it could fit — and what could rule it out
The work includes mowing and strimming, but also litter and debris removal, hedge and weed work, leaf clearance and grave levelling. A mowing-only company needs to check those additional duties before investing in a bid.
The specification requires public-grounds maintenance experience, at least two references and a copy of current Public Liability insurance. Being interested in Surrey work does not establish that your company meets those requirements.
How the council will score a bid
- Public-grounds experience and references: 40%.
- Value for money: 30%.
- Locality: 30%. Contractors within ten miles of Chobham receive three locality points. That is a scoring criterion; it is not stated as an absolute exclusion of other locations.
Specification page 1. The worksite is reached off Chobham High Street between numbers 53 and 57, GU24 8AF (page 6). The bid delivery address below is a different location.
Email bids will not be accepted
The notice requires a sealed envelope delivered by hand or post to the Parish Office, Parish Pavilion, Chobham Recreation Ground, Station Road, Chobham, GU24 8AJ. Mark it “Burial Ground Maintenance Contract”. Allow enough time for arrival before the deadline.
Clarify the workload before pricing it
The notice says weekly extension-area mowing in April–September; specification pages 3–4 say six cuts in those months, with additional upkeep as needed. Page 4 also says that if new burials begin in the extension, it must be maintained to the established area's standard. Ask the council to confirm the required frequency, that potential increase in work and the pricing basis.
The notice's dates run to 31 December 2029; the specification describes three years and a £26,000–£36,000 guide without an explicit VAT basis. Confirm the duration and budget basis. Specific boundary-clipping exceptions in page 4 also need reconciling with the general immediate-removal instruction on page 5.
Check these before deciding to bid
- Actual site quantities, equipment, disposal arrangements and the full maintenance duties; the reviewed map gives no measured workload.
- Your machinery and capacity for the weekly cemetery duties and any change in extension maintenance.
- The insurance limit and exact evidence requirements: an amount is not stated in the reviewed notice or specification.
- How additional work, such as unstable memorial repairs, would be quoted and instructed. No site inspection, eligibility decision or viable bid price is claimed here.